Bhuvneshwar Kumar to Play in the UP Squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the Indian seamer, was named in the Uttar Pradesh squad for the next edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy; after having made the expected improvement of the thigh injury he had sustained during the IPL; which had ruled him out for six months.

In the original squad released by Uttar Pradesh, his former Team India teammate Suresh Raina; the injury-prone Indian international was not chosen. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will fly from Delhi to Alur (Bengaluru) on Saturday, while Raina and his other teammates will travel separately.

Even though Bhhvneshwar Kumar has been cleared by the National Cricket Academy; Uttar Pradesh has picked up as many as seven fast bowlers in a 22-strong team, including seven standbys; to ensure ample backup if the premium fast bowler is injured again.

The other members of the UP squad

The other pacers include Ankit Rajpoot, Shivam Mavi, Purnank Tyagi, Mohit Jangra, and Aaquib Khan.

Earlier, it was learned that Bhuvneshwar Kumar would not have been available for any competitive cricket for six months; but sources in the knowledge of development have said that the fast bowler has made progress over the last few days.

Source said that Bhuvneshwar has made strides over the past few days; and has also been practising on the ground in Greater Noida West (Noida Extension) for the past few days, both bowling and batting.

In the meantime, Uttar Pradesh has been slotted with Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Railways and Tripura in Elite Group A, and all their group matches will take place in Bengaluru.