BCCI Denies Permission to Yuvraj Singh to Play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Yuvraj Singh

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has shattered Yuvraj Singh’s dreams of making a sensational return to domestic cricket through the forthcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Earlier this year, Yuvraj Singh voiced his intention to retire in order to play Punjab in domestic cricket.

Former Indian batsman declared his retirement from international and domestic cricket last summer. However, after working with the young Punjab quartets; Shubman Gill, Abhishek Sharma, Prabhsimran Singh and Anmolpreet Singh at the PCA Stadium in Mohali; at the invitation of the Punjab Cricket Association, he rediscovered his passion for the game.

After that, he wrote to the BCCI for permission to return to the Punjab action. Recently, he was also included in Punjab’s probable tournament list. However, the BCCI has agreed not to give him the green light to return to domestic cricket. The explanation behind this is Yuvraj Singh’s appearance in international leagues.

The laws of the BCCI

As per the rules, an Indian player who has been part of any international league; can’t make a return to IPL or domestic cricket. The same rule saw the BCCI telling the Knight Riders of Kolkata; to remove Pravin Tambe as he had played the T10 League. While Tambe had declared his retirement, he was not allowed to play in the IPL.

It should be noted that, after declaring his retirement last year; Ambati Rayudu was allowed to return to action in the IPL as well as domestic cricket. Rayudu had the opportunity to make a comeback because, unlike Yuvraj Singh, he had not featured in any international league.

It was hoped that the BCCI would give Yuvraj Singh some relief, but the Board stayed firm on its rule. After his retirement, the iconic batsman played in the Global T20 Canada and the T10 League.

Punjab’s team for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy:

Mandeep Singh (captain), Gurkeerat Mann (vice-captain), Rohan Marwaha, Abhinav Sharma, Prabhsimran Singh; Anmolpreet Singh, Anmol Malhotra, Sanvir Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Karan Kaila, Mayank Markande, Abhishek Sharma; Ramandeep Singh, Siddharth Kaul, Barinder Sran, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Baltej Dhanda, Krishan, Gitansh Khera