BCCI Announces Six Bio-Bubble Centres ahead of SMAT


The BCCI revealed the name of the six Bio-Bubble Centers in the run-up to the Syed Mushtaq Ali Tournament; scheduled to begin on 10 January. The BCCI is all set to welcome back home cricket in the fold; after the outbreak of COVID-19 caused it to pause. The last case of domestic cricket was back in March when the Ranji Trophy took place.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah sent an email to all the state organisations that the Mid-Day viewed; listing the six centres where the tournament will be staged. The 38 teams will host by Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Indore, Mumbai and Chennai. The teams split into five elite classes of A, B, C, D and E. There are eight new teams in the competition as well.

The eight new sides of the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Tournament are Chandigarh, Bihar and the North East outfits. They will be part of the Plate Party. Mumbai is part of the Elite E Group and will play all their matches on their home turf. The tournament still remains important for the BCCI in the way; that they are planning to add two new teams to the IPL next year. Shah added that the timetable would publish over time.

BCCI Secretary asks teams to assemble at the venues:

The email also specified that the teams would meet in reputable locations on or before 2 January. All players must also undergo COVID-19 training; and quarantine procedures in compliance with the national regulatory authorities; and Shah has demanded full cooperation and assistance to ensure that the competition is successful.

“The teams will have to assemble at their respected venues on or before January 2. They will need to undergo COVID-19 testing procedures; and quarantine in accordance with the state regulatory authorities,” the email said.

The Six Venues and Teams

Elite A: Venue Bangalore

Teams: Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Railways and Tripura

Elite B: Venue Kolkata

Teams: Odisha, Bengal, Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Hyderabad

Elite C: Venue Vadodara

Teams: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda and Uttarakhand

Elite D: Venue Indore

Teams: Services, Saurashtra, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Goa

Elite E: Venue Mumbai

Teams: Haryana, Andhra, Delhi, Mumbai, Kerala and Puducherry

Plate: Venue Chennai

Teams: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh